Fairline Phantom 65 Review (2022 Edition)

The Fairline Phantom range is back, as the British yard delivers its first sportsbridge yacht. Is it the best of both worlds or a compromised mix of sportscruiser and flybridge? 

Fairline Phantom 65 Review (2022 Edition) image 1

It has taken Fairline some time to enter this sector but it looks to have been well worth the wait. The famous Phantom name is revived for a boat that is looking to perfectly tread the line between spacious flybridge cruiser and rakish sportscruiser.

The hull and lower deck design are shared with the flagship of Fairline's flybridge range, the Squadron 68, but from there up it's all very different with swooping lines, a sleek and tightly proportioned top deck, and thunderous performance. Read on to see what's it like to live with and how it feels out on the water.

Fairline Phantom 65 Key Facts

Fairline Phantom 65 illustration

  • Model Year 2022
  • Max Speed 36 knots
  • Status In Production
  • Yacht Type Sportsbridge Yacht
  • Use Type Cruising

Test & Review Video

YachtBuyer Score

In this article:

Our Verdict

Rivals to consider.

  • Specification

Our Scores Explained

Performance & Handling

Wafting to your destination on a big wave of Caterpillar-derived torque is the name of the game aboard this accomplished cruising machine.  The Phantom 65 has two shaft drive engine options, the C18 1,150s or the ones we had on test, the monstrous V12 1,650hp C32s.

Performance with the smaller engines is perfectly good and you can expect a top speed of around 33 knots but the C32 V12s launch the Phantom into the stratosphere. Performance is important in this market and there is no lack of it here with a top speed of 37 knots and a very comfortable cruise in the low 30s. 

Around the Marina

For a big boat that weighs in at 38 tons, it feels light as a feather from behind the helm. The big Cat motors have so much poke that you'll be doing 6 knots with just one engine in gear so there is plenty of punch when it comes to maneuvering the boat at slow speed. The fly-by-wire steering is so smooth you can steer with one finger and the proportional Sleipner bow and stern thrusters take the edge of berthing procedures and have a hold function so you can pin the boat to the pontoon. 

IPS-powered rivals such as the Sunseeker 65 Sport Yacht and Azimut S6 probably have the edge thanks to their joystick control and the option to have Volvo's Dynamic Positioning System, which uses GPS to hold the boat in place. But the Fairline is an easy boat to handle at slow speed and feels less intimidating inside the marina than the Squadron 68 on which it is based. 

With wide side decks, plenty of grab rails, and chunky mooring gear the Phantom is a pretty easy boat to crew, though it lacks a side door at the lower helm. 

Fairline Phantom 65 at anchot

At sea, the fly-by-wire steering is a little too light and takes 10 turns to get from lock-to-lock so the driving sensation is a bit detached, especially from the flybridge. That said, from the top deck, the Phantom is a seriously relaxed cruiser with mountains of power on tap from those fearsome V12s. At 30 knots the engines are at just 80% load and this is where you feel the real benefit over the smaller engines — they top out at just over 30 knots whereas with the twin 1650s, the boat will happily cruise there.

The feeling of power is immense and you get a real sense of the potency of the engines from the lower helm where they are more audible. Not to the point of disruption, however, with sound levels hovering around the 70db(A) mark even at a fast cruise.

Fairline Phantom 65 running

Despite the light steering the boat still behaves nicely when you give the wheel a bit of a spin. There's a pleasant amount of heel but it also sits very solidly in the water and tracks nice and straight when you just want to cover the distance. It feels like an effortless touring machine, which will cover over 200nm 25 knots and waft you and your guests along in comfort and style. 

Conditions were kind on the day of our test so the hull didn't face much of a challenge but crossing our own wake and tackling the wash of passing ships did little to wrongfoot the big Fairline. With Fairline's reputation for quality and solidly designed hulls, the Phantom should be a confident performer if you get caught out in big seas. 

Performance is superb with these motors and we achieved a top speed on the test of 36.5 knots with five crew and full fuel, water, and waste tanks. With a lighter load, it should comfortably crack 37 knots, if not more, which is pretty special for a boat of this size. 

Design & Build

The Phantom 65 shares its platform with the flagship of Fairline's flybridge range, the Squadron 68. But this is sharing at its most subtle and intelligent because you'd have no idea that this sleek sportsbridge shared a hull and lower deck design with its bigger sibling.

The Phantom is a truly great-looking boat that strikes that difficult balance between sportiness and the elevated living of a flybridge cruiser. Not every brand gets this right and, naturally, the flybridge isn't as large as a traditional flybridge but the payoff is the sweet proportions and the added benefit of the sunroof in the saloon.

Fairline Phantom 65 styling

Fairline's quality appears to be back to its best, too. Take the inset maple in the tables and cabin doors, for example, the sort of attention to detail and craftsmanship upon which Fairline built its reputation. The engineering around the oily bits is equally solid and the mouldings are chunky and smooth.  It's all too easy for sportsbridges to fall into the jack of all trades, master of none trap but Fairline treads the fine line between sports yacht and flybridge brilliantly with the new Phantom. 

Interior Accommodation

With a sliding door and a section that drops down into the deck, the cockpit and saloon merge together well on the main deck. The galley aft arrangement makes serving the deck spaces very easy, even so, Fairline has added a fridge to the unit just outside the cockpit doors so you're never too far from a chilled drink.

The saloon, in satin walnut, oozes class and there is detailing to die for like the fluted panels on the fridge/freezer fascias and the built-in bespoke storage for the Fairline branded glassware and crockery. The dinette table is set on a hilariously thick leg and well positioned opposite the galley so it's easy to transfer plates across if dining inside. 

Fairline Phantom 65 salon

The galley is a good size and features a domestic fridge/freezer, induction cooking, plenty of open counter tops, and a small dishwasher. This leaves the middle of the saloon free to deal with lounging duties where there is a pair of low-slung sofas and a stylish coffee table, though if you wanted another table like the one in the dinette you could have it. It's a lovely area to chill out in the evening and the dip in the saloon windows maintains the view when you're sitting down.

The TV pops up from the unit behind the sofa on the starboard side and it can be linked to the optional Sonos sound system (an eye-watering GBP £27,000). It sounds superb, mind, and features a suite of built-in speakers as well as a fleet of small wireless waterproof ones that can be moved around the boat and charged via a docking station beneath the helm seat. If you treasure sound quality, it's a must-have. 

One of the major attractions of a sportsbridge design is that you have a sunroof as well as an upper deck. On the Phantom, the GRP roof is inset with glass panels so even when it's shut natural light can pour down and light up the helm station and lower deck lobby. The roof has a pneumatic seal so it takes a little while to open/close but to be able to drive from the lower helm with nothing but the blue sky overhead is a real treat. In the absence of a side door, it brings some welcome natural ventilation to the main deck, as well.

Fairline Phantom 65 master cabin

Once again it's the fit and finish that stands out on the lower deck. The woodwork, the bathroom components, and the solid flooring underfoot, all combine to create a reassuringly expensive feel throughout the accommodation. 

More impressive than that, though, is the variety of layout options on offer considering the boat is produced in relatively high numbers. This is where platform sharing with the Squadron 68 works so well as these layout options have been tried and tested on the flagship and have been perfectly adopted on the Phantom as well.

As standard, there are three cabins, three bathrooms, and a day head. The day heads can be replaced with a utility room with a washer/dryer, extra storage, and that essential boating luxury, an ironing board. Those who plan to stay on board for extended cruises will no doubt appreciate this option that is unique to the sector. 

For those who treasure sleeping space or anyone who has their eye on chartering the boat out, the four-cabin arrangement with a bunk cabin in place of the day heads is a good option but the last arrangement — and the one we had on our test boat — creates a mightily impressive forward guest cabin. The extended VIP option may have to sacrifice its ensuite's day head access but the benefit is a forward cabin with the luxury of floor space and a useful amount of extra storage. It all feels a little grander, too. 

There is a twin cabin to starboard with its own ensuite and this has berths that slide at the touch of a button so you can turn this space into a double or twin in no time.

The master ensuite enjoys the boat's full width amidships and it's a cracking cabin. It is spacious, bright, packed with storage, and aligns with the hull window design at its deepest so the views out over the waterline are tremendous. The private ensuite is positioned behind the bed, which not only makes it very spacious but also provides another layer of insulation between the master cabin and the potential machine noise emanating from the engine room. 

Helm Station

Unfortunately for the Phantom 65, it's up against one of the best upper helms you'll find anywhere in the market in the shape of the Sunseeker 65 Sport Yacht's Sky Helm. But where the Fairline can't compete with the Sunseeker's theatre it's a more complete, sociable arrangement on the top deck. There is space for a compact seating area adjacent to the helm so a couple more guests can sit up front and enjoy the ride.

The helm itself is very good and has plenty of adjustment on both the seat and steering wheel and there are some decent cubby holes to keep loose items safely in place. Being elevated, the view is excellent but although that sleek windscreen looks good it doesn't do such a great job of actually deflecting the wind, so you get buffeted at higher speeds. If the breeze is a bit too keen, you can always head downstairs. 

Fairline Phantom 65 lower helm

Where Fairline has helpfully mirrored the design of the upper helm so everything is in the same place and all feels very familiar. The MFDs are a little further away, but a panel of switches next to the steering wheel makes it easy to control them remotely. The driving position isn't quite as comfortable as upstairs but it's still a lovely place to sit and the dashboard is classy in design and easy to use. 

The boat has a single-piece windscreen so the mullions are rather thick but by mounting the driver's seat towards the middle of the salon Fairline has managed to avoid creating what would be a pretty hefty blind spot. 

The tender garage is a key part of the Phantom 65's design and with space for a Williams Sportjet 345, it means the large hydraulic bathing platform is kept clear of obstructions. This is a good space with a flip-down bench set into the transom as well as an overhead shower that pops up from a panel next to the starboard staircase.

There is also access here, via the cockpit steps, to the optional crew cabin. It's not a very big space, but then this is a boat the Owner will want to drive. If it's a crewed boat you're after, the Squadron 68 is a better bet. Still, it's useful to have a toilet and shower this close to the waterline that guests can use when they've been for a swim. It's handy extra storage for kit, too. 

Fairline Phantom 65 flybridge

Head into the cockpit via the port side steps and there is a dedicated Seabob locker built into the sun pad, a must-have addition these days. The cockpit's layout is unusual but it's clever and maximizes the available seating space to create a really large dinette. The table spans the aft corner on the starboard side so guests can sit on the transom bench and the well-protected seating that butts up against the cockpit doors. The table also folds to make it easier to access the starboard side deck.

Underneath the flybridge stairs, which have lights built into their handsome teak treads, there is a small beer fridge and well-placed safety locker with easy access to the fuel shut-offs for the engines and generator and the manual bilge pump. 

With the flybridge on the small side for a 65-footer, the foredeck has an important role to play in boosting living space on the main deck, and the Phantom's is really nicely designed. The central teak-laid walkway works well and the horseshoe seating with built-in sun pads provides another area for guests to relax. 

Fairline Phantom 65 engine room

The flybridge may be much smaller than that of a traditional flybridge but whereas some rivals have top decks that are just a driving position and sun pads, the Phantom 65's is a proper deck, about the same size as a Squadron 50's, if not a little larger. The space is used well, too, with a focus on seating aft, a convertible sun pad adjacent to the helm, and a wet bar in between with you all you need to serve guests lunch up top. There isn't a hard top option but a hydroelectric bimini is a smart alternative that pops up and down at the touch of a button and has LED lights built into the stainless supports. 

Engineroom access is via a hatch in the cockpit deck and though it's easy to drop down between the engines, the sheer size of the V12 motors and the intrusion of the tender garage means the space isn't the easiest to move around in. The installation itself is excellent, though, with neatly arranged and labeled wiring and plumbing and easy access to day-to-day service items.  

Value For Money

The Phantom 65's price is in line with its rivals if not a little lower as a base boat than its British and Italian competitors. One thing is for sure, the Fairline feels like a quality product from stem to stern. 

Our Options & Pick

It's GBP £250,000 to upgrade to the larger engines, which is a lot of money by anybody's standards, but we think it's worth it for the extra performance. Having a top speed in the late 30s is all well and good but it's the way these motors transform the boat's cruising ability that (just about) justify the cost. 

We would also add the two extra 16in Garmin MFDs at the helms (GBP £16,000), Bimini (GBP £20,00), proportional bow and stern thrusters (GBP £18,000), extended VIP (GBP £8,000) and teak side decks (GBP £19,000).

If you spend a lot of time on anchor then the Seakeeper 18 gyroscopic stabilizer is well worth thinking about, even if it is a GBP £140,000 option. 

There is a lot to like about the Fairline Phantom 65. In a sector where striking the balance between two different genres is key to success, the Phantom appears to have achieved equilibrium better than most. If you accept that a sportsbridge yacht has a smaller top deck than a traditional flybridge then what Fairline has served up on the top deck of the 65 is an impressive feat of design. You get most of the luxuries of a fully-fledged flybridge yacht with evocative, head-turning looks.  

There is substance as well as style, though, because this boat performs effortlessly out on the water, is beautifully put together and has an abundance of interior layouts that allow each customer to build a boat suited to their own style of boating. 

This is not a sector that Fairline has rushed into, it's taken time to develop its sportsbridge on a proven platform and the results speak for themselves. If you're in the market for a 65ft sportsbridge, this is one of the best. 

Reasons to Buy

  • Fabulous looks
  • Rampant performance
  • High quality finish
  • Versatile interior layouts

Things to Consider

  • Top deck is (understandably) smaller than a traditional flybridge
  • The tender garage eats in to engineroom space
  • No hard top option

The sportsbridge market has become a major focus for many brands in recent years so the Phantom 65 faces hefty competition. These craft offer the looks of a sportscruiser with the living space of a flybridge and are often full of surprises. 

The Sunseeker 65 Sport Yacht is an award-winning sportsbridge with the coolest helm station in the sector. The Sky Helm brings a thrilling go-kart-like drive position to 65ft cruiser and the pop-up steering column, which allows you to stand on the top deck and use the IPS joystick for berthing, is a stroke of genius. There is more to the Sunseeker than its upper helm, though, as it's one of the best-looking boats in Sunseeker's current range and has the performance to match. It doesn't have the variety of lower deck layouts of the Fairline but it's a seriously tempting package.

The Princess S66 is probably the Phantom's most direct rival with a similar layout and equally punchy MAN V12 1,400hp engines. In good conditions, it will crack nearly 40 knots and can cruise in the early to mid-30s. It also has a four-cabin configuration with an amidships master cabin but it doesn't have the layout options of the Fairline. The flybridge isn't as big as the Fairline's, either, but it still manages to squeeze in a dinette, sun pad and wet bar. The S66 is a quality machine with barnstorming performance. 

The Galeon 650 Skydeck is a feast of clever features that has the most innovative deck spaces in the sector. Based on the 640 Fly, it has folding balconies in the cockpit plus the brilliant rotating cockpit dinette, which allows you to spin the whole unit around to face out to sea. It also has a walk-through windscreen with a central door that slides into the roof moulding to allow direct access to the foredeck from the saloon. Finally, there is the top deck, which isn't quite as comfortable as the Fairline's because the furniture is set so low - but for good reason. At the touch of a button, a cover slides over the entire top deck to protect it from the elements. No messing around with covers here. 

The Azimut S range was one of the first to fully embrace the sportsbridge design and the Azimut S6 , though a little older than the other boats here, is still a fine-looking craft with lots of clever design elements to admire. Azimut uses carbon fibre strategically in this boat's construction to reduce its weight and lower the centre of gravity and installs triple IPS700 with 550hp for the best power-to-weight ratio.  The interior is super stylish but not as spacious as the Fairline's with only three cabins on the lower deck and the top deck is a pretty simple driving position and sun pad arrangement. It's a real head-turner, though, with 35-knot performance. 

Specifications & Performance

  • Builder Fairline
  • Range Phantom
  • Model Phantom 65
  • Length Overall 19.96m
  • Yacht Type (Primary) Sportsbridge Yacht
  • Use Type (Primary) Cruising
  • Cruising Speed Max Speed
  • Fuel Capacity 4,177 Litres
  • Fresh Water Capacity 1,080 Litres
  • Engine Model 2x Caterpillar C32 ACERT D02 - U.S. EPA Tier 3 and IMO Tier II/III
  • Engine HP 1622

Performance Data

Fairline Phantom 65 version 2022. *Data supplied by the manufacturer.

Test Engines Twin Caterpillar C32 ACERT D02 - U.S. EPA Tier 3 and IMO Tier II/III

  • Liters Per Hour
  • Liters Per Mile
  •   CRUISE

Yacht Load: 100 Litres of water 100 Litres of fuel 3 members of crew air temperature of 28 °C

Sea Conditions: F1 and calm

Fairline Phantom 65 Layout

Flybridge Fairline Phantom 65

The shorter flybridge leaves space for a sunroof forward 

Main Deck Fairline Phantom 65

The galley is aft on the main deck and it connects well with the cockpit 

Standard 3 cabin layout

Lower Deck Fairline Phantom 65

The standard arrangement comprises three ensuite cabins and a separate day heads 

Optional 3 cabin layout with extended VIP

Lower Deck Fairline Phantom 65

The extended VIP creates a lobby area in the forward cabin, though the ensuite also becomes the day heads in this arrangement 

Optional 3 cabin layout with utility

Lower Deck Fairline Phantom 65

The day heads is replaced by a utility room with a washer/dryer, extra storage and an ironing board 

Optional 4 cabin layout

Lower Deck Fairline Phantom 65

For maximum sleeping accommodation, this layout adds a bunk bed cabin on the port side 

Jack Haines

Jack Haines

Jack is YachtBuyer's Reviews Director. He is a writer, editor and presenter with 15 years’ experience testing over 350 motorboats of all shapes and sizes, from 20ft RIBs to 120ft yachts (and even the Royal Navy Frigate HMS Sutherland ). 

  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Header Homepage

• SUBSCRIBE •MAGZTER •NEWSLETTER

•CONTAC T US

YACHT STYLE, power catamaran, Azimut Grande, Robertson and Caine, Leopard Catamarans, Bluegame, BGM75, Sunreef, Cora 48, Van der Valk, Blue Jeans, Riva, Aquitalia, Axopar

Asia's leading yachting lifestyle media

More results...

YS67 COVER

New and Improved: Fairline upgrades fun-filled F//Line 33

  • December 16, 2021

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has tweaked and tinkered with the design to return with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed. By Olivia Michel.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

Fairline’s fastest boat, the F//Line 33 is ideal for one or two couples or a family, but has a daytime capacity of eight

The common adage, ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’, may sound familiar to most, but the saying is distinctly alien in the yachting industry where builders and designers are constantly refining proven models in a bid to create an even better version.

In the case of Fairline’s F//Line 33, the original model – which premiered at the Cannes Yachting Festival in September 2019 – was certainly not broken, proving both popular and very fast, hitting 48 knots with the most powerful engine options. Regional dealer Simpson Marine imported the first unit in Asia last year.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The hard top is a popular new option

Based on consumer responses, Fairline had decided by early 2020 that the boat could be slightly improved and started developing the new model, which was ultimately premiered at this year’s Cannes Yachting Festival in September.

“All changes were 100 per cent driven by customer feedback,” explains Miles Moorhouse, Fairline’s Head of Marketing. “With all boats you are constantly tweaking the design and listening to your customers. Our ability to react to market demand is critical and a hand-made project like this means you can make changes.”

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

A C-shaped sofa replaces the two facing bench seats

An array of small but significant edits have helped the model reach new heights, but the original concept remains the same.

Penned by Italian designer Alberto Mancini and inspired by classic 1960s car design, the 33ft fibreglass vessel is a sexy day boat that offers much more than a quick cruise to the nearest lunch spot.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The aft sunpad is a major new feature

Generous onboard spaces, sleek lines and a revolutionised driving experience makes the F//Line 33 stand out among the brand’s other models. “It looks very different from a traditional Fairline,” Moorhouse notes. “This is very much a weekender boat.”

OPTIMISING SPACES

The new F//Line 33 is based on the same hull but with variations to the design of the main deck. Original features such as a forward sunbed and aft dining area are retained but with a slightly modified design to better serve their purpose.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The hard top has an electric sunroof over the twin helm

Optimising the outdoor experience became a clear priority for the revised layout of the model. This has been realised in the form of details such as a new portside wet bar with options to add a fridge, electric griddle and icemaker to enhance al fresco entertaining for six guests.

Starboard seating is now arranged in a C-shaped sofa to starboard around a teak-topped table, with the aft backrest doubling up as a headrest for an additional two-person sunbed.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

There are now sunpads fore and aft

Having just one walkway, to port, instead of two creates more socialising area. Moving to an open-transom format also offers easier access to the water for guests wanting to spend extra time outdoors.

Perhaps the most obvious and popular alteration is the inclusion of a hard top option, with Fairline declaring that it has been chosen on every new order.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The interior dinette can convert to a bed

Below deck, interiors are surprisingly spacious given the compact size of the dayboat. The layout incudes a convertible forward dinette, day head and midships cabin.

The dinette with a nifty high-low table and an ultra-modern mirror TV also ensures that the lower deck is as cosy and comfortable as the spaces above. The low cabin offers a serene sleeping space with a double bed, justifying Moorhouse’s preference to call it a weekender rather than a basic dayboat.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The cosy double cabin midships

The new interior also has increased storage space and a host of new options such as a cooking hob and sink, ensuring that even when it’s raining outside, onboard dining can still involve more than pre-packed picnics.

EASY TO DRIVE – AND CONFIGURE

Fairline initially created the F//Line project to attract a new audience, reflected in the model’s energetic performance.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

There are now twin helm seats instead of a bench

Moorhouse describes the desired demographic as slightly younger than ‘big boat’ buyers, maybe even people new to boating. For some, the F//Line 33 is their first luxury boat. The driving experience is key to the specific consumer market.

Despite being able to reach impressive speeds depending on engine choice, the F//Line 33 “has built a reputation as a good sea boat that lands softly” and is decidedly “easy to handle,” according to Moorhouse. He describes the F//Line 33 as “confidence giving” due to its user-friendly set-up.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The F//Line 33 is designed to be easy to drive

In the new version, an increased helm width makes room for two 12in Garmin navigation screens where before there was just one.

As well as being easy to drive, the F//Line 33 is easy to personalise. Fairline’s excellent online configurator allows potential clients to see how they’d like their boat to look, such as with or without a hard top, inboard or outboard engines, and the best colours for the hull, upholstery and interior.

Two years after the launch of its 33ft dayboat, Fairline has returned with an updated version driven by customer demand. Meet the new and improved F//Line 33, with hard top option and aft sunbed.

The interior now has the added option of a sink, hob and tableware storage

Moorhouse says the online configurator is invaluable to the purchasing process of the new F//Line 33. “People’s knowledge of the product is great by the time they visit. It works well for clients from around the world, who can use the configurator to build their ideal 33. It’s a powerful tool.”

Looking ahead, Moorhouse says “there is scope to expand the F//Line”, suggesting that although the 33 may be one of the brand’s most refined models, there could be more to come from the new range. www.fairline.com www.simpsonmarine.com

British builder Fairline Yachts has announced a new CEO, while a former CEO will return to the company as Chairman from January.

Editor's Picks

Vivian Chan, Chan Ki, VP Yachts, Sessa, Yacht, Boat, Marine, Sun Hing Shipyard, Ruby Law, Tasha Ling, Wendy’s Workshop

Vivian Chan steps out of the shadows with VP Yachts

Ferretti Yachts, 1000, motor yacht, Venice Boat Show, Cannes Yachting Festival, IdeaeItalia, Filippo Salvetti, Taiwan, Asia

Ferretti Yachts’ epic new flagship

Azimut, Grande, 26 Metri, 36 Metri, Trideck, Cannes Yachting Festival, Monaco Yacht Show, Verve 42, Magellano, Marine Italia

Azimut to launch two new Grande models in 2022

EDITOR'S PICKS

fairline yachts review

New York Vendée race victors

fairline yachts review

Explore the Mediterranean with Simpson Yacht Charter this summer on a Sanlorenzo yacht

Rafael Nadal E1 Sunreef, Rafael Nadal Sunreef Partnership, Rafael Nadal E1 Series with Sunreef, Team Rafa Sunreef Yachts Eco, Team Rafa Partners with Sunreef Yachts

Rafael Nadal announces new E1 partnership with Sunreef Yachts

All-aluminium superyacht, Ferretti Group, Custom Line 50, All-aluminium Custom Line 50, 50m Custom Line

Ferretti Group debuts its first Custom Line all-aluminium yacht

Jeanneau Days event, Jeanneau Days APAC, Jeanneau sailboat tours, Jeanneau Days in Asia

Jeanneau Days events make a splash across APAC

fairline yachts review

Azimut’s Seadeck Series gets tough on sustainability with gentle tech

Yachting, superyachts, Asia-Pacific Superyacht Summit, Hong Kong, Hong Kong Boating Industry Association, HKBIA

Yachting spotlight on Hong Kong

Australia, SeaLink North, North Queensland, Museum of Underwater Art, MOUA, Jason deCaires Taylor, sculpture

Journey into Queensland’s depths with an art and conservation tour on World Ocean Day

fairline yachts review

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Copyright © 2024  Website by Malikhan Design & Digital

All Rights Reserved © 2023

fairline yachts review

Copyright © 2024 Yacht Style.All Rights Reserved .Website by Unstoppable.

Discover more from Yacht Style

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Type your email…

Continue reading

  • THE PRINCESS PASSPORT
  • Email Newsletter
  • Yacht Walkthroughs
  • Destinations
  • Electronics
  • Boating Safety

Yachting Magazine logo

Fairline Squadron 55

  • By Chris Caswell
  • Updated: November 4, 2010

fairline yachts review

The old adage “Don’t tinker with success” must have filled Fairline Boats with trepidation when it first considered designing a new Squadron 55 because the previous version, launched in the mid-’90s, had proved legendary in its success. But adages can be old wives’ tales, and, in this case, Fairline took an already nice yacht and made it, well, magnificent.

This was not a “freshening” of the previous yacht but an entirely new design from the keelson up. In profile, the swoopy lines and Cleopatra-eyed windows are something that a boat-crazy teenager might doodle in his biology notebook, but it is a look that works. She’s pretty now, and she should prove ageless as well.

While the three-cabin layout (plus crew) is delightful, I found the really impressive stuff under the skin. Take the electrical system, for example. Most owners endure this part of their boat, never quite sure why something goes “zap” at the wrong moment. Fairline, however, has created Pilot, a comprehensive system so user-friendly you don’t need an electrical engineering degree. The heart of Pilot is a touchscreen at the helm that manages literally everything. One switch turns the power system on, and a PC-based computer decides which systems you need immediately. One switch turns the system off, and, once again, the computer decides which systems — such as bilge pumps — should be overlooked.

When the generator is started, Pilot brings systems on line incrementally, so the air conditioner and freezer don’t fight for power. Plug into shore power that isn’t sufficient, and Pilot offers a choice of systems to shut down. You might choose, for example, to sacrifice power to the Bang & Olufsen entertainment system in favor of air conditioning. And, if the dock power goes off, the system automatically switches to inverter and sends an alert.

Fairline has also taken advantage of modern technology, and nowhere is this better illustrated than at the fuel fill. Not only is it aircraft grade with anti-splash and anti-foaming properties, but there also is an LCD display that tells you exactly how many gallons are in the tank. No more excuses for overfilling!

Inside, the Squadron 55 is the very essence of luxury, from the stitched-leather Recaro helm seats to the deep wool carpet more often seen in Rolls-Royces. The salon furniture is loose, which gives a megayacht feel as well as an openness, and a second sitting area with dining table is opposite the galley on the raised pilothouse level. Our test yacht, from Total Marine in Dania Beach, Florida, has a walnut interior, which is pleasantly grained, but you can also choose white oak or cherry to change the décor.

fairline yachts review

The galley has all the expected goodies as well as decent stowage at eye level and under the Avonite counter, which I wish had anti-spill lips. But there are sufficient backsplashes fore and aft to keep uh-ohs in the galley from falling onto the leather seats.

The lower helm is quite functional, with backup analog gauges in the line of sight forward, electronics neatly placed in the leather dash for easy scanning and, of course, the Pilot touchscreen at your elbow.

The creature comforts continue down the curving stairwell to the staterooms, which are surprisingly spacious when you remember that this is a 55-foot hull and there is a crew cabin abaft the engine room. The master suite spans the nearly 16-foot beam, and, with a wall of mirrored hanging lockers, plus the large ports on each side, it’s bright and airy. Up in the bow is the larger guest cabin with an island berth. There are two hatches, again creating a light and open feel.

The stateroom has direct access to the head to port, which also serves the twin cabin opposite. I liked that the showers are large and enclosed by square doors on husky hinges. No flimsy folders here.

Gentle steps from the cockpit lead to what can only be described as an immense bridge. Aft, there’s a seating area for a dozen guests around an oversize dining table, while a pad large enough to stack sun worshippers like anchovies surrounds the console-like helm.

The cockpit is open except for a bench seat across the transom, and Fairline provides a full enclosure as standard equipment. The bench allows more headroom in the crew cabin beneath.

Our test boat had 865-horsepower Caterpillar C15 diesels, which are one step above the standard 775-horsepower Volvo Penta D12s and one step below the 900-horsepower D13s. The construction is first rate. A very extensive grid of foam stringers and a proven shoebox hull-to-deck joint create a rugged monocoque structure, and I liked the seamanlike way that all the plumbing and electricals were secured.

Under way, the Squadron 55 is a blast. Sitting behind the bronze helm console, you’re the master of all you see. Spin the wheel, and the 55 banks like a fighter jet into a turn. With the hammer down, spray is thrown away from the hull. We topped out at 31.5 knots with full fuel and water, which is about a half-knot slower than the factory numbers. Interestingly enough, the choice between 775-horsepower and 865-horsepower engines doesn’t make much difference, according to Fairline, so your choice is likely to be brand preference.

Replacing an existing yacht in your line is not to be taken lightly, yet Fairline has come up with another winner in the new Squadron 55, which creates its own adage: “Tinker with success!”

LOA: 56’9″ Beam: 15’9″ Draft: 4’11” Displ.: 21.8 tons Fuel: 650 gal.** Water:** 256 gal. Transom Deadrise: 11 degrees Test Power: 2 x 865-hp Caterpillar C15 diesels Standard Power: 2 x 775- hp Volvo Penta D12 diesels Base Price: $1,844,580 Price as Tested: $2,182,010

**Fairline Boats, +44-1832-273-661; www.fairline.com

**To read more about Fairline’s history, click here . To read about the Fairline Targa 64, click here . To read about the Fairline 74, click here . For a gallery of the 74, click here .

  • More: Fairline , Motoryachts
  • More Yachts

Patrone 45

Tommaso Spadolini, Patrone Moreno Collaborate on Patrone 45

Sunseeker 100

Sunseeker 100 Yacht Reviewed

CRN Project Thunderball

CRN’s Project Thunderball Begins Fit-Out

wallywhy100

The Boundary Breaking wallywhy100

Sunseeker 64 Manhattan

For Sale: 2002 Sunseeker 64 Manhattan

Sunseeker 100

For Sale: 2013 Cabo 36 Express

Hargrave 90 EB

For Sale: Recently-Refit Hargrave 90 Enclosed Bridge

Yachting Magazine logo

  • Digital Edition
  • Customer Service
  • Privacy Policy
  • Email Newsletters
  • Cruising World
  • Sailing World
  • Salt Water Sportsman
  • Sport Fishing
  • Wakeboarding

Suggested companies

Vmware - virtualization software, dstudio fine art & photographic printing, 3d wholesale.

fairline yachts review

Fairline Yachts   Reviews

In the Boat Builders category

Visit this website

Company activity See all

Your profile picture

Write a review

Reviews 4.5.

Most relevant

I ordered the parts and that arrived…

I ordered the parts and that arrived exactly as I thought they should

Date of experience : 01 April 2024

Appreciate the proactive approach for broken part! The part came broken even tough I…

The part came broken even tough I warned for good packaging. Packaging was not good and it came broken. The action they took to send a replacement was so proactive. We received a replacement very fast and thank you for this

Date of experience : 05 March 2024

Excellent service

The blind we ordered was no longer available, we were contacted straight away and an alternative was chosen. It arrived within a couple of days by courier, excellent service.

Date of experience : 14 February 2024

Had the part that I needed quickly…

Had the part that I needed available quickly (few days) which was amazing considering I was expectin6/8 weeks. Came very well packaged and quickly. Parts now fitted. Thanks a lot

Knowledgeable friendly and efficient …

Website is far from easy to identify what you are looking for but email them and they are first rate: knowledgeable, friendly and efficient in sending anything you your order.

Date of experience : 23 February 2024

Very poor customer service

Very poor customer service, no commmunication!! Website showed in stock, purchase confirmation email indicated 4-6 weeks, no communication from the team to say the item would be late, currently 9 weeks and I still have not received the items.

Date of experience : 07 March 2024

Matthew is great and always helpful

Date of experience : 20 March 2024

Good price and excellent service…

Very pleased with the price and service for our latest purchase from Fairline.The parts which had to be modified were expeditiously done and the delivery from UK to Langkawi, Malaysia took less than 7 days! Very impressed and Fairline Yachts will always be our first stop when shopping for parts.

Date of experience : 08 November 2021

UNNECESSARILY HIGH COST OF FREIGHT

main issue is the cost of freight, where freight can cost more than the part. Fairline quote during purchase to freight 250g from UK to Australia is GBP46. Royal Post with tracking is GBP11. Fairline should act in the interest of clients and find more economical ways of supplying non urgent parts as am sure boat owners would prefer to spend the money with Fairline that with freight companies.

Date of experience : 25 March 2022

Needed a new gas strut for the wet bar…

Needed a new gas strut for the wet bar lid on our Targa 44. Sent an email in the morning, had it ordered before lunch, and received the new strut a few days later. Brilliant service!

Date of experience : 20 February 2024

Owners manual service

Hy, i ordered the owners manual for my Targa 33 boat.I recieved it, on my email next day. The service from mr. Alex Neagus was excellent. He also helped me with my further questions. Everting was customer oriented. The only thing which im missing, is PAY-PAL payment. This should be implemented for fast checkout. Thank you!

Date of experience : 27 May 2021

Good website !!

I have requested several orders on the Fairline website. I have always been in contact with Alex Neagus, the treatment has been perfect, both in all the consultations that I have made and in the communication that we have had to maintain to solve with new elements more suitable for the proper functioning of the boat. I have only good words of thanks for a job well done... a pleasure to work with you Alex.

Date of experience : 23 March 2021

Freshwater pump ordered online

Product (F/W pump) arrived within a few days of ordering. Unfortunately, the wrong one had been picked from the warehouse, a 24v not 12v as ordered. Guys in parts department very helpful - emailed pre-paid returns label immediately and despatched correct pump the same day the incorrect one was received back. A little frustrating I lost a week due to the error but top marks for customer service to put it right! Would recommend them every time

Date of experience : 25 June 2021

I needed a special door lock for a…

I needed a special door lock for a Fairline, I had spent some considerable time trying to locate it myself, without any success. I contacted the parts team and Steve Kibble came back to me. what a great guy, with so much knowledge, he knew exactly which part I required & he got one for me. Although delivery is slow, you know you're getting the right parts for the job. Steve is a credit to Fairline.

Date of experience : 25 February 2021

Fairline Parts Customer Service

I wanted to smarten up my Fairline Squadron 58. I went to the Fairline Parts website and found what I needed from their comprehensive parts listing. I wanted a new helm wheel in time for our 2022 holiday cruise so I phone Fairline Parts to see if it was in stock. The gentleman I spoke to was very helpful and checked the stock during the call. I was lucky and got the last one on the shelf. The part arrived one day earlier than expected via DHL and was well packaged. I was updated with delivery information while the part was in transit. I am delighted with the new wheel. In summary, the part quality and customer service from Fairline Parts was excellent and I can certainly recommend them.

Date of experience : 14 July 2022

Very helpful, pantient and friendly

We have had with Fairline several experiences of managing our orders well. They handle setbacks (such as your package getting lost at the shipping company) very professionally and are ready to help you.

Date of experience : 10 November 2023

Fairline steering wheel

I was looking on the internet for a steering wheel for my 1989 Fairline 24 and I found Fairline yachts I got a good deal on a leather steering wheel I found them quick on dispatching and I am over the moon on my purchase the quality is what you would expect from Fairline Mitch

Date of experience : 09 May 2021

Although the package was delivered in…

Although the package was delivered in what looked like new packaging, the items had been opened and repacked. On installation, the bilge pump would not pump, but just ran fast and the sump box overflowed. Teasing the float switch helped as occasionally the pump emptied the sump, but on the next occasion would just cycle and not pump. Disappointed, but changed the pump at further expense and all now working fine. Do these items end up on ebay when they have been found to not work properly? Who knows, but when a deal seems to good to be true, it usually is!

Date of experience : 03 September 2021

Support even for 2006 S58!!

Excellent part support even for 2006 S58!! Many parts from running gear to trim pieces inside and out at reasonable prices. Prompt and courteous help from service agents. Easy shipping to the USA.

Date of experience : 19 February 2022

Excellent product at a great price that…

Excellent product at a great price that was shipped extremely fast as international shipping and arrived safe with no delays. Very pleased and plesently surprised!

Date of experience : 02 March 2022

fairline yachts review

Published: 5th March 2021

BoatTEST.com reviews the F//LINE 33

BoatTEST.com, one of the leading authorities when it comes to boat tests and reviews, has just published its detailed evaluation and sea trial reviews of our award-winning F//LINE 33. Renowned for putting the most exciting new launches through their paces, we were keen to hand the keys over to Test Captain Steve Larivee, to get his thoughts on our stylish new dayboat.

“Pure fun to drive!”

Captain Steve runs through the F//LINE 33 from stern to bow, highlighting technical features and exploring the extensive personalisation options onboard. Full throttle, he admires the boat’s excellent handling and comfort, coupled with impressive performance and superior sharp turns that James Bond would enjoy.

“She’s gentle and forgiving, whilst giving the adrenaline rush of a sporty performance speed boat.”

High praise indeed.

Watch Captain Steve’s two review films by clicking here.

More articles

5th March 2021

Targa 45 OPEN to make Palm Beach show debut

Fairline Yachts Americas is all set to display three of its most popular designs at this month’s Palm Beach International Boat Show - March 25 - 28.

26th November 2020

Fairline takes customer experience to the next level

17th November 2020

Let us entertain you

Let Fairline Yachts entertain you with the launch of our Spotify channel

13th November 2020

Fairline revives the Riviera of the Orient

Combining the best of British with the spirit of stylish Riviera adventures

Privacy Overview

This website uses cookies to improve your experience while you navigate through the website.

Out of these, the cookies that are categorized as necessary are stored on your browser as they are essential for the working of basic functionalities of the website.

We also use third-party cookies that help us analyze and understand how you use this website. These cookies will be stored in your browser only with your consent. You also have the option to opt-out of these cookies. But opting out of some of these cookies may affect your browsing experience.

CookieDurationDescription
CookieConsent38 years 2 months 26 days 7 hoursThis cookie stores the user's consent state for the current domain.
cookielawinfo-checkbox-advertisement1 yearSet by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin, this cookie is used to record the user consent for the cookies in the "Advertisement" category .
cookielawinfo-checkbox-analytics11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-functional11 monthsThe cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-necessary11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-others11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other.
cookielawinfo-checkbox-performance11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance".
PHPSESSIDsessionThis cookie is native to PHP applications. The cookie is used to store and identify a users' unique session ID for the purpose of managing user session on the website. The cookie is a session cookies and is deleted when all the browser windows are closed.
viewed_cookie_policy11 monthsThe cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. It does not store any personal data.
CookieDurationDescription
localesessionThis cookie is used to store the language preference of a user allowing the website to content relevant to the preferred language.
sc_anonymous_idneverThe cookie is set by SoundCloud to enable SoundCloud player.
CookieDurationDescription
_gat1 minuteThis cookie is installed by Google Universal Analytics to restrain request rate and thus limit the collection of data on high traffic sites.
CookieDurationDescription
CONSENT2 yearsYouTube sets this cookie via embedded youtube-videos and registers anonymous statistical data.
vuid2 yearsVimeo installs this cookie to collect tracking information by setting a unique ID to embed videos to the website.
_ga2 yearsThe _ga cookie, installed by Google Analytics, calculates visitor, session and campaign data and also keeps track of site usage for the site's analytics report. The cookie stores information anonymously and assigns a randomly generated number to recognize unique visitors.
_gat_UA-162104344-11 minuteA variation of the _gat cookie set by Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager to allow website owners to track visitor behaviour and measure site performance. The pattern element in the name contains the unique identity number of the account or website it relates to.
_gid1 dayInstalled by Google Analytics, _gid cookie stores information on how visitors use a website, while also creating an analytics report of the website's performance. Some of the data that are collected include the number of visitors, their source, and the pages they visit anonymously.
CookieDurationDescription
fr3 monthsFacebook sets this cookie to show relevant advertisements to users by tracking user behaviour across the web, on sites that have Facebook pixel or Facebook social plugin.
IDE1 year 24 daysGoogle DoubleClick IDE cookies are used to store information about how the user uses the website to present them with relevant ads and according to the user profile.
test_cookie15 minutesThe test_cookie is set by doubleclick.net and is used to determine if the user's browser supports cookies.
uid2 monthsThis cookie is used to measure the number and behavior of the visitors to the website anonymously. The data includes the number of visits, average duration of the visit on the website, pages visited, etc. for the purpose of better understanding user preferences for targeted advertisments.
yt-remote-connected-devicesneverYouTube sets this cookie to store the video preferences of the user using embedded YouTube video.
yt-remote-device-idneverYouTube sets this cookie to store the video preferences of the user using embedded YouTube video.
yt.innertube::nextIdneverThis cookie, set by YouTube, registers a unique ID to store data on what videos from YouTube the user has seen.
yt.innertube::requestsneverThis cookie, set by YouTube, registers a unique ID to store data on what videos from YouTube the user has seen.
_fbp3 monthsThis cookie is set by Facebook to display advertisements when either on Facebook or on a digital platform powered by Facebook advertising, after visiting the website.
CookieDurationDescription
C1 month 1 hourNo description
sessiontokensessionNo description available.

fairline yachts review

  • Subscribe Now
  • Digital Editions

hero profile

Fairline F33 Outboard review: Trendy update adds further refinement

  • Buyers will either be swayed by the aesthetic of the inboards or the easy access and draught versatility of the outboards
  • This J&J hull really is a triumph, no matter what’s forcing it through the water

The Fairline F33 Outboard topped out at 45 knots on test

  • Easy boarding from the quayside thanks to these side gates
  • Convert the dinette to create one of two double berths below decks
  • The multi-function steering wheel is a welcome addition
  • The quality of the interior is top- notch for a day boat; the heads is cramped but finished to a high standard
  • Top stories

With demand for outboards going through the roof, Fairline has made them an option on its sporty F33. How does this version compare to the inboard original? We head to a windswept Ipswich to find out...

Casting off on a biting cold February day in Ipswich is probably not what Alberto Mancini had in mind when he designed the Fairline F33.

This outboard-powered version of Fairline ’s achingly handsome sportsboat is more likely to be found charging between the Balearics islands, swivelling heads as it goes. But if it can prove itself in the brown suburbs of the North Sea then it’s off to a good start.

Most of this boat is identical to the inboard model launched in 2019. There is the same deck layout, a wet bar with sink, grill, cooling and storage space and a driver-focused helm that sits well below the rakish side screens that rise and fall so attractively from the topsides.

Article continues below…

Fairline F-Line 33 sea trial: Breathtaking handling shines through on test

Galeon 325 gto yacht tour: inside an ultra-luxurious £350k outboard sportsboat, recommended videos for you.

Below decks there is an open-plan dinette that converts into a double bed with another double berth amidships. Finished to Fairline’s usual high standard, the sleeping space is probably a little too cosy for weeks on board but perfect for when day trips melt into long, lazy weekends.

The big news here is what’s going on at the stern because gone is the optional folding transom and in its place are a pair of Mercury’s 350hp Verado outboards. There are twin 300s and 400s on the price list as well but the 350s are a well-proven engine and should suit the Fairline F33 well.

There is a total weight saving of around 400kg over the 430hp inboard petrols that we tested in 2019. The mini beach club transom-come-platform may be sacrificed to make space for the outboards but, as an option, you can have a hi-lo platform that surrounds the outboards and will drop into the water for swimming but also rise up to meet the quayside when moored stern-to.

farline-f33-outboard-review-running-shot

This J&J hull really is a triumph, no matter what’s forcing it through the water

This elevation also creates space for the outboards to be lifted clear of the water for work in shallower depths. Alas, the boat we tested didn’t have this option and made do with more basic split platforms jutting out either side of the motors.

Despite serving up 700hp on tap, these Verados make very little fuss when you turn the key and soon settle into an idle so quiet you can barely tell if they’re running. With a twin rig on the back and bow thruster in place, the Fairline F33 Outboard proved easy enough to guide through the lock gates of Ipswich Marina and on to the Orwell.

At speed, it’s the refinement of the Verados that really stands out. The inboards offer a more visceral experience, with the 6.2-litre blocks thrumming away beneath the deck, but bury the throttles on this version and you are suddenly covering ground at a joyously swift rate. On a choppy afternoon, we topped out 45 knots with two people on board and full fluids.

farline-f33-outboard-review

The hull has lost none of its ride comfort or tenacity in the transition from inboards to outboards, either. There isn’t quite as much heel or grip compared to the super-slippery sterndrive legs but it’s still an absolute hoot in the turns and so composed during landings.

From the figures we’ve gathered, there doesn’t seem to be much difference in terms of efficiency between the inboard and outboard petrols, with very little to separate their fuel burn and range at equivalent speeds.

Adding outboards to the F33 was a no-brainer for Fairline. The consumer demand for them is so high across the market that the tail is beginning to wag the dog, with manufacturers designing boats with outboards in mind.

Update: The Farline F33 Outboard is due to go on display at the 2022 Southampton Boat Show .

Price as reviewed:

£425,796.00 inc. VAT

Dynamically it’s difficult to split the two versions as both perform brilliantly. The Verados are the more refined cruising companions, but the inboard V8s have an edge to them that delivers muscle boat appeal, and their sterndrives make for a slightly more enjoyable driving experience. However, the Fairline F33’s quality and tremendous hull make it a win-win situation either way.

Starting price: £358,800 (inc. VAT) LOA: 32ft 9in (9.99m) Beam: 11ft 6in (3.5m) Draught: 2ft 7in (0.74m) Displacement: 6.1 tonnes Engines: Twin 350hp Mercury Verado outboard Top speed on test: 45 knots Cruising speed: 34 knots Range: 136nm Fuel consumption: 122l/h Fuel capacity: 680 litres Water capacity: 220 litres RCD category: C for 8 people Design: Alberto Mancini / Fairline

Latest reviews

Riva 82 diva review: this €6m yacht is a design tour de force, axopar 45 cross top review: the world's coolest day boat, bluegame bgm75: full test of this €6.8m powercat that thinks its a monohull, latest videos, bluegame bgm75 sea trial: the €6.8m powercat that thinks its a monohull, cormate chase 32 tour: fast, stylish and practical weekender, axopar 29 sea trial: sun top vs cross cabin – which is best, sunseeker ocean 182 – see how this compact superyacht copes in a wet and windy sea trial.

Suggested companies

Vmware - virtualization software, dstudio fine art & photographic printing, 3d wholesale.

fairline yachts review

Fairline Yachts   Reviews

In the Shipbuilder category

Visit this website

Company activity See all

Your profile picture

Write a review

Reviews 4.5.

Most relevant

I ordered the parts and that arrived…

I ordered the parts and that arrived exactly as I thought they should

Date of experience : April 01, 2024

Appreciate the proactive approach for broken part! The part came broken even tough I…

The part came broken even tough I warned for good packaging. Packaging was not good and it came broken. The action they took to send a replacement was so proactive. We received a replacement very fast and thank you for this

Date of experience : March 05, 2024

Excellent service

The blind we ordered was no longer available, we were contacted straight away and an alternative was chosen. It arrived within a couple of days by courier, excellent service.

Date of experience : February 14, 2024

Had the part that I needed quickly…

Had the part that I needed available quickly (few days) which was amazing considering I was expectin6/8 weeks. Came very well packaged and quickly. Parts now fitted. Thanks a lot

Knowledgeable friendly and efficient …

Website is far from easy to identify what you are looking for but email them and they are first rate: knowledgeable, friendly and efficient in sending anything you your order.

Date of experience : February 23, 2024

Very poor customer service

Very poor customer service, no commmunication!! Website showed in stock, purchase confirmation email indicated 4-6 weeks, no communication from the team to say the item would be late, currently 9 weeks and I still have not received the items.

Date of experience : March 07, 2024

Matthew is great and always helpful

Date of experience : March 20, 2024

Good price and excellent service…

Very pleased with the price and service for our latest purchase from Fairline.The parts which had to be modified were expeditiously done and the delivery from UK to Langkawi, Malaysia took less than 7 days! Very impressed and Fairline Yachts will always be our first stop when shopping for parts.

Date of experience : November 08, 2021

UNNECESSARILY HIGH COST OF FREIGHT

main issue is the cost of freight, where freight can cost more than the part. Fairline quote during purchase to freight 250g from UK to Australia is GBP46. Royal Post with tracking is GBP11. Fairline should act in the interest of clients and find more economical ways of supplying non urgent parts as am sure boat owners would prefer to spend the money with Fairline that with freight companies.

Date of experience : March 25, 2022

Needed a new gas strut for the wet bar…

Needed a new gas strut for the wet bar lid on our Targa 44. Sent an email in the morning, had it ordered before lunch, and received the new strut a few days later. Brilliant service!

Date of experience : February 20, 2024

Owners manual service

Hy, i ordered the owners manual for my Targa 33 boat.I recieved it, on my email next day. The service from mr. Alex Neagus was excellent. He also helped me with my further questions. Everting was customer oriented. The only thing which im missing, is PAY-PAL payment. This should be implemented for fast checkout. Thank you!

Date of experience : May 27, 2021

Good website !!

I have requested several orders on the Fairline website. I have always been in contact with Alex Neagus, the treatment has been perfect, both in all the consultations that I have made and in the communication that we have had to maintain to solve with new elements more suitable for the proper functioning of the boat. I have only good words of thanks for a job well done... a pleasure to work with you Alex.

Date of experience : March 23, 2021

Freshwater pump ordered online

Product (F/W pump) arrived within a few days of ordering. Unfortunately, the wrong one had been picked from the warehouse, a 24v not 12v as ordered. Guys in parts department very helpful - emailed pre-paid returns label immediately and despatched correct pump the same day the incorrect one was received back. A little frustrating I lost a week due to the error but top marks for customer service to put it right! Would recommend them every time

Date of experience : June 25, 2021

I needed a special door lock for a…

I needed a special door lock for a Fairline, I had spent some considerable time trying to locate it myself, without any success. I contacted the parts team and Steve Kibble came back to me. what a great guy, with so much knowledge, he knew exactly which part I required & he got one for me. Although delivery is slow, you know you're getting the right parts for the job. Steve is a credit to Fairline.

Date of experience : February 25, 2021

Fairline Parts Customer Service

I wanted to smarten up my Fairline Squadron 58. I went to the Fairline Parts website and found what I needed from their comprehensive parts listing. I wanted a new helm wheel in time for our 2022 holiday cruise so I phone Fairline Parts to see if it was in stock. The gentleman I spoke to was very helpful and checked the stock during the call. I was lucky and got the last one on the shelf. The part arrived one day earlier than expected via DHL and was well packaged. I was updated with delivery information while the part was in transit. I am delighted with the new wheel. In summary, the part quality and customer service from Fairline Parts was excellent and I can certainly recommend them.

Date of experience : July 14, 2022

Very helpful, pantient and friendly

We have had with Fairline several experiences of managing our orders well. They handle setbacks (such as your package getting lost at the shipping company) very professionally and are ready to help you.

Date of experience : November 10, 2023

Fairline steering wheel

I was looking on the internet for a steering wheel for my 1989 Fairline 24 and I found Fairline yachts I got a good deal on a leather steering wheel I found them quick on dispatching and I am over the moon on my purchase the quality is what you would expect from Fairline Mitch

Date of experience : May 09, 2021

Although the package was delivered in…

Although the package was delivered in what looked like new packaging, the items had been opened and repacked. On installation, the bilge pump would not pump, but just ran fast and the sump box overflowed. Teasing the float switch helped as occasionally the pump emptied the sump, but on the next occasion would just cycle and not pump. Disappointed, but changed the pump at further expense and all now working fine. Do these items end up on ebay when they have been found to not work properly? Who knows, but when a deal seems to good to be true, it usually is!

Date of experience : September 03, 2021

Support even for 2006 S58!!

Excellent part support even for 2006 S58!! Many parts from running gear to trim pieces inside and out at reasonable prices. Prompt and courteous help from service agents. Easy shipping to the USA.

Date of experience : February 19, 2022

Excellent product at a great price that…

Excellent product at a great price that was shipped extremely fast as international shipping and arrived safe with no delays. Very pleased and plesently surprised!

Date of experience : March 02, 2022

fairline yachts review

W h e n   a   l e g e n d   m e e t s   a n   i c o n .  

T h e   n e w   t a r g a   4 0  , t h e   n e w   s q u a d r o n   5 8 :   a   f r e s h   l o o k .   s a m e   b e a t i n g   h e a r t .  , w h e r e   l u x u r y   &   e x h i l a r a t i o n   c o - e x i s t  , t h e   w o r l d   a t   y o u r   f i n g e r t i p s  , a n   e x c i t i n g   n e w   o u t l o o k   o n   l i f e  , t h e   s t r i k i n g   f / / l i n e   3 3  , f i n d   y o u r   p e r f e c t   f a i r l i n e  , f / / l i n e  .

The F//LINE has set the industry alight and hearts racing. Sleek, sporty and with searing performance, this is a modern weekender made for exhilarating, wind-in-the-hair adventure.

Designed in collaboration with celebrated Italian yacht designer, Alberto Mancini, the F//LINE delivers the full package – head-turning lines, an exceptional ride, sharp handling and breath-taking performance.

T a r g a  

Sophisticated styling meets the ultimate in power and performance. A Targa delivers an engaging driving experience alongside svelte exterior lines, generous living spaces and outstanding flexibility on and below deck.

Designed for life on the water, this iconic motor yacht range has been elevated by the designs of Alberto Mancini and our own in-house team, resulting in the perfect marriage of elegant Italian refinement and British craftsmanship.

Open-plan living provides Targa owners with spacious socialising and sunbathing areas and a seamless connection to the water. With deft use of glass above and below decks and versatile layouts, this class-leading range pushes the boundaries of modern sports cruiser design.

Targa has year-round appeal thanks to the standard fit sunroof across the range and the option to have an open or fully enclosed main deck.

P h a n t o m  

The iconic Phantom name is reimagined in Fairline’s first sportsbridge yacht, the stunning Phantom 65.

An exciting blend of flybridge accommodation with sportscruiser handling and style, the Phantom delivers triple-deck living spaces and razor-sharp looks with the on-water dynamics to match.

The Phantom offers motor yacht owners a game changing combination of Targa and Squadron attributes thanks to its beautifully proportioned upper deck and the addition of a glass sunroof above the main saloon.

A masterstroke in modern yacht design, the Phantom offers a huge array of al-fresco dining, entertaining and lounging spaces to soak up the sun alongside captivating, streamlined looks and thrilling performance.

S q u a d r o n  

Uncover a world of new possibilities. With numerous layout options and expansive flybridges, a Squadron is designed for the adventure-seeking family. Renowned for its alluring mix of luxurious accommodation and intelligent design, this iconic marque is light, spacious and open with beautifully integrated practical design features.

With expansive cockpits, luxurious saloons and sumptuous cabins with full-standing headroom, a Squadron affords owners exquisite open-plan living for life on the water. Enjoy sundowners on the sociable flybridge, relax on the foredeck sunpads or catch the morning sun on the submersible bathing platform.

The Squadron design maximises owner’s connection to the water thanks to light-filled interiors, huge windows, and generous deck spaces.

Sophisticated and elegant, a Squadron offers supreme comfort matched with contemporary style.

Find a dealer

Fairline has one of the most extensive dealer networks in the industry with over 50 customer-focused dealerships worldwide. Our knowledgeable partners offer outstanding customer service and experience.

Become part of the Fairline family today.

A pre-owned Fairline is ready to create new memories. Explore our listings of pre-owned Fairlines and find your perfect match. With boats located around the world and a wide selection of models available, your Fairline could be right around the corner. In your hands, the adventure will continue.

O u r   S t o r y  

Fairline has been at the beating heart of boatbuilding for more than half a century and has built a reputation for enduring designs, expert craftsmanship, superior luxury and unrivalled performance. 

From humble beginnings in Oundle, England, Fairline has become an iconic name in yachting worldwide with a range of boats spanning four model lines from 33-68ft (10-21m). 

The spirit of adventure drives everything we do.  With a team who are dedicated to their craft, we continue to bring fresh ideas, push boundaries and produce industry-leading marques, which marry the latest technical innovations with exceptional British craftsmanship, style and refinement.  

Our collaboration with celebrated Italian yacht designer Alberto Mancini combines contemporary style with a long-standing heritage and our award-winning range of designs have become synonymous with outstanding seakeeping, performance and luxury.  

Always remaining true to the Fairline DNA, we produce award-winning models that pair space with sophistication. Fairline’s brand legacy is one of carefree adventure for all who step aboard.

News & Events

18th April 2024

Authorised Dealership now in San Francisco

Fairline has announced MRN Yacht Sales as its partner in California.

27th February 2024

Come and start your career with Fairline

Our Recruitment Open Day is set to take place on 2nd March. We're gearing up to fill positions at our Oundle manufacturing facility, promising exciting opportunities for job seekers in the marine industry.

5th February 2024

Miami line-up announced

Fairline has announced its line-up for Miami International Boat Show (14-18 February 2024) which includes the Squadron 68, Squadron 50, Targa 45 OPEN and the F//LINE 33.

25th January 2024

Squadron 58 wins at the Motorboat of the Year awards

Privacy overview.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience while you navigate through the website.

Out of these, the cookies that are categorized as necessary are stored on your browser as they are essential for the working of basic functionalities of the website.

We also use third-party cookies that help us analyze and understand how you use this website. These cookies will be stored in your browser only with your consent. You also have the option to opt-out of these cookies. But opting out of some of these cookies may affect your browsing experience.

CookieDurationDescription
CookieConsent1 monthThis cookie stores the user's consent state for the current domain.
cookielawinfo-checkbox-advertisement1 yearSet by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin, this cookie is used to record the user consent for the cookies in the "Advertisement" category .
cookielawinfo-checkbox-analytics11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-functional11 monthsThe cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-necessary11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-others11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other.
cookielawinfo-checkbox-performance11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance".
PHPSESSIDsessionThis cookie is native to PHP applications. The cookie is used to store and identify a users' unique session ID for the purpose of managing user session on the website. The cookie is a session cookies and is deleted when all the browser windows are closed.
viewed_cookie_policy11 monthsThe cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. It does not store any personal data.
CookieDurationDescription
localesessionThis cookie is used to store the language preference of a user allowing the website to content relevant to the preferred language.
sc_anonymous_idneverThe cookie is set by SoundCloud to enable SoundCloud player.
CookieDurationDescription
_gat1 minuteThis cookie is installed by Google Universal Analytics to restrain request rate and thus limit the collection of data on high traffic sites.
CookieDurationDescription
CONSENT2 yearsYouTube sets this cookie via embedded youtube-videos and registers anonymous statistical data.
vuid2 yearsVimeo installs this cookie to collect tracking information by setting a unique ID to embed videos to the website.
_ga2 yearsThe _ga cookie, installed by Google Analytics, calculates visitor, session and campaign data and also keeps track of site usage for the site's analytics report. The cookie stores information anonymously and assigns a randomly generated number to recognize unique visitors.
_gat_UA-162104344-11 minuteA variation of the _gat cookie set by Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager to allow website owners to track visitor behaviour and measure site performance. The pattern element in the name contains the unique identity number of the account or website it relates to.
_gid1 dayInstalled by Google Analytics, _gid cookie stores information on how visitors use a website, while also creating an analytics report of the website's performance. Some of the data that are collected include the number of visitors, their source, and the pages they visit anonymously.
CookieDurationDescription
fr3 monthsFacebook sets this cookie to show relevant advertisements to users by tracking user behaviour across the web, on sites that have Facebook pixel or Facebook social plugin.
uid2 monthsThis cookie is used to measure the number and behavior of the visitors to the website anonymously. The data includes the number of visits, average duration of the visit on the website, pages visited, etc. for the purpose of better understanding user preferences for targeted advertisments.
yt-remote-connected-devicesneverYouTube sets this cookie to store the video preferences of the user using embedded YouTube video.
yt-remote-device-idneverYouTube sets this cookie to store the video preferences of the user using embedded YouTube video.
yt.innertube::nextIdneverThis cookie, set by YouTube, registers a unique ID to store data on what videos from YouTube the user has seen.
yt.innertube::requestsneverThis cookie, set by YouTube, registers a unique ID to store data on what videos from YouTube the user has seen.
_fbp3 monthsThis cookie is set by Facebook to display advertisements when either on Facebook or on a digital platform powered by Facebook advertising, after visiting the website.
CookieDurationDescription
C1 month 1 hourNo description
sessiontokensessionNo description available.

COMMENTS

  1. Fairline Phantom 65 Reviewed

    Courtesy Fairline. Powered by twin 1,622 hp C32 Caterpillar engines, the Phantom 65 topped out at 36.2 knots and 2,300 rpm, with a fuel burn of 178 gallons per hour. Considering the yacht's 1,103-gallon fuel capacity and a 10 percent reserve, range is 202 nautical miles at top hop. Dial back to a cruising speed of 26 knots at 2,100 rpm, and ...

  2. Boat Test and Review of the Fairline Squadron 68

    We clocked a two-way average of 28.5 knots just as, right on cue, a passing superyacht provided the biggest waves of the day. The Squadron's hull barely noticed. The 68's forward sections are remarkably fine, and its 19-degree deadrise amidships barely moderates in its run aft to 17 degrees at the transom.

  3. BoatTEST.com reviews the F//LINE 33

    Dealers Yachts. Published: 14th December 2020. BoatTEST.com reviews the F//LINE 33. Renowned for putting the most exciting new launches through their paces, we were keen to hand the keys over to Test Captain Steve Larivee, to get his thoughts on our stylish new dayboat. "Pure fun to drive!".

  4. Fairline Phantom 65 Yacht Test Drive & Full Review

    The Phantom 65 has two shaft drive engine options, the C18 1,150s or the ones we had on test, the monstrous V12 1,650hp C32s. Performance with the smaller engines is perfectly good and you can expect a top speed of around 33 knots but the C32 V12s launch the Phantom into the stratosphere. Performance is important in this market and there is no ...

  5. Fairline Boat Reviews

    Jan 9, 2010. Fairline's new express cruiser goes with speed and style, plus the convertibility to expose anyone in the main cabin saloon and cockpit to the open air on a nice day. …. Read More. 1. 2. Older Articles →. Advertisement. The latest Fairline boat reviews featuring first look videos, tests, specifications, and information resources.

  6. Tested: Princess R35 and Fairline F//Line 33

    Although Fairline offers a variety of engine options on the F//Line 33, starting with twin 240-hp gasoline V6s or 220-hp diesels, our test boat was fitted with the same engines and drives as the R35. So the comparison between the two boats is fascinating. Some fast boats just feel right. The F//Line 33 is one.

  7. Fairline Phantom 65 Yacht Review and Sea Trial

    When her twin 1,622-hp Caterpillar D32's reach 1,600 rpm, turbos spool, acceleration becomes urgent. Laying her hard over, the 95,000-pound yacht corners like a 65-foot Bentley Continental GT. Thanks for watching! Of the big three British yachtbuilders, Sunseeker, Princess and Fairline, the latter is the smallest.

  8. New and Improved: Fairline upgrades fun-filled F//Line 33

    Fairline's fastest boat, the F//Line 33 is ideal for one or two couples or a family, but has a daytime capacity of eight . The common adage, 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it', may sound familiar to most, but the saying is distinctly alien in the yachting industry where builders and designers are constantly refining proven models in a bid to create an even better version.

  9. Fairline Phantom 65 review: Full sea trial of this £3million luxury

    Sunseeker 65 Sport Yacht review: This is how driving a £3m boat should feel. In other words, Fairline is gambling that the Phantom won't just replace the Targa 65 GTO, but generate extra sales too. It's a brave punt but an informed one; the Targa never seemed to perform quite as well as its looks suggested and at this size it's as much ...

  10. Fairline Squadron 50 Boat Review

    The engine room is impressive. Every possible service point is readily accessible. Not only is this likely to improve the reliability of the yacht, but service techs will love you. Power comes from a pair of 710-horsepower Caterpillar C-12s, which push the Squadron 50 along at a respectable 31 knots.

  11. Fairline Reviews

    Fairline Reviews. Oundle boatbuilder Fairline was founded in 1963 and got its name from a fair line of minerals found in a nearby quarry. The current range includes the Targa sportscruisers and the Squadron flybridge models. The firm is currently owned by Russian investors Alexander Volov and Igor Glyanenko, following a buyout announced in ...

  12. Fairline Yachts Reviews

    Do you agree with Fairline Yachts's 4-star rating? Check out what 194 people have written so far, and share your own experience. | Read 21-40 Reviews out of 155

  13. Boat Review: Fairline Squadron 55

    The Squadron 55 is a properly dressed performance cruiser from the venerable British builder. The old adage "Don't tinker with success" must have filled Fairline Boats with trepidation when it first considered designing a new Squadron 55 because the previous version, launched in the mid-'90s, had proved legendary in its success.

  14. 10 Most iconic Fairline motor yachts of all time

    Oundle-based Fairline Yachts started building boats in 1967 and in the last 51 years they have created a stunning range of motor yachts. We take a look at the shipyard's most iconic craft. Fairline 19. The first of Fairline's extensive range, the Fairline 19 was built in 1967 and 700 were sold in its eight year production run.

  15. Fairline Yachts Reviews

    Fairline quote during purchase to freight 250g from UK to Australia is GBP46. Royal Post with tracking is GBP11. Fairline should act in the interest of clients and find more economical ways of supplying non urgent parts as am sure boat owners would prefer to spend the money with Fairline that with freight companies. Date of experience: 25 March ...

  16. BoatTEST.com reviews the F//LINE 33

    BoatTEST.com, one of the leading authorities when it comes to boat tests and reviews, has just published its detailed evaluation and sea trial reviews of our award-winning F//LINE 33. ... Fairline Yachts Americas is all set to display three of its most popular designs at this month's Palm Beach International Boat Show - March 25 - 28. 26th ...

  17. Squadron 68

    Miami line-up announced. Fairline has announced its line-up for Miami International Boat Show (14-18 February 2024) which includes the Squadron 68, Squadron 50, Targa 45 OPEN and the F//LINE 33. 25th January 2024. Squadron 58 wins at the Motorboat of the Year awards. Our Yachts.

  18. Working at Fairline Yachts: 64 Fairline Yachts Reviews

    Fairline Yachts Employee Reviews Review this company. Job Title. All. Location. United Kingdom 64 reviews. Ratings by category. 3.4 Work-life balance. 3.2 Pay & benefits. 2.9 Job security & advancement. 2.8 Management. 3.1 Culture. Sort by. Helpfulness Rating Date. Language. Showing all 64 reviews.

  19. Fairline Squadron 65 boat test review

    Motor Boat and Yachting were the first magazine to step aboard the new Fairline Squadron 65 and carry out a comprehensive boat test. Even if you are itching to part with around £1.5 million for your next big flybridge powerboat, we'd urge you to wait until the full Fairline Squadron 65 boat report appears in the July 2009 issue of Motor Boat ...

  20. Fairline F33 Outboard review: Trendy update adds further refinement

    The consumer demand for them is so high across the market that the tail is beginning to wag the dog, with manufacturers designing boats with outboards in mind. Update: The Farline F33 Outboard is due to go on display at the 2022 Southampton Boat Show. Price as reviewed: £425,796.00 inc. VAT.

  21. 40

    The Targa 40 is ready to start tomorrow's adventure with the thrill of speed and precision handling. A beautifully proportioned and ergonomically designed helm puts the focus on technology. The latest Garmin multi-function displays enhance every bit of your experience on board the new Targa 40. Download the brochure.

  22. Fairline Yachts Reviews

    Fairline quote during purchase to freight 250g from UK to Australia is GBP46. Royal Post with tracking is GBP11. Fairline should act in the interest of clients and find more economical ways of supplying non urgent parts as am sure boat owners would prefer to spend the money with Fairline that with freight companies. Date of experience: March 25 ...

  23. Fairline Yachts

    Fairline has announced its line-up for Miami International Boat Show (14-18 February 2024) which includes the Squadron 68, Squadron 50, Targa 45 OPEN and the F//LINE 33. 25th January 2024 Squadron 58 wins at the Motorboat of the Year awards